Sant Kabir Nagar is created on 5th September 1997. This district was field of activities of Sant Kabir Das and, therefore, it is named “Sant Kabir Nagar”. Formation of district Sant Kabir Nagar consists of complete Tahsil Khalilabad of erstwhile District Basti, 131 villages of Tahsil Basti and all 161 villages of development block Santha of Tahsil Bansi of the District Siddharth Nagar.
The seat of district administration is at Khalilabad. To provide efficient administration the district is administratively divided into 03 tahsils namely, Mehdawal, Khalilabad and Ghanghata. For implementation and monitoring of development scheme the district is divided into 09 Development Blocks namely, Sotha, Mehdawal, Baghauli, Semariyawan, Khalilabad, Nath Nagar, Haisar Bazar, Belhar Kala and Pauli (Belhar Kala and Pauli is newly created after 2001 Census). Total area of the district is 1646.0 Sq. Km. The rural area covers 1620.0 Sq. Km. and urban recorded 26.0 Sq. Km. There are 648 Gram Panchayats and 1726 Revenue villages with 1582 inhabited villages and 144 uninhabited villages in the district. Statutory Towns comprises of 01 Nagar Palika Parishad and 07 Nagar Panchayats